animal geltine
TheVeganKind Monthly Subscription Box

Strangely enough, most large confectionary businesses want to add in parts of animals and crushed bones to the tasty little sweets you grew up loving. Yes, there’s a lot of animal gelatine in your sweets.

As you may know, there’s a plant-based gelatine alternative, yet the businesses continue to throw in plenty of ground toes and bones.

Using animal gelatine is cheaper than the plant-based option, so it’s clear to see why they’ve always gone for it.

animal gelatine

Yet, as society becomes more ethically aware and health conscious, more and more businesses are scrapping the animal gelatine in sweets. Unsurprisingly, businesses choosing to do this are the young, new start-ups. Instead of choosing to add animal gelatine in sweets they are replacing it with the marginally more expensive plant-based option.

So it seems the larger businesses may just be stuck in their old ways right? Or are they just greedy?

There’s no need for multi-billion pound businesses to throw in animal products into an innocent sweet just to skimp on a very small amount of money.

As the times change and trends towards ethical, healthy options continue, businesses will have to start to adapt. If they don’t, we could see some lose their footing.

animal gelatine

Surely now is the time for a large corporation to put an end to the suffering and pain they’ve inflicted on millions of animals and instead choose a more compassionate option.

If they don’t then businesses will start to suffer. More and more people will simply boycott the business and stop buying their unethical products. That will damage the businesses profit far more than if they were to just use a gelatine with a plant-based source.

I know, I never choose to eat animal gelatine.

Do you?

By the way:

Here’s a list of some sweets that don’t use animal gelatine and are perfectly safe for vegans to eat!

  • Starburst
  • Skittles
  • Millions
  • Haribo – Sour Rainbow Strips, Sour Rainbow Twists
  • Flying Saucers
  • Love Hearts
  • Polo Mints Original
  • Jelly Tots
  • Sherbet Fountain
  • Skittles
  • Marks and Spencer Veggie Percy in a Twist and Colin the Caterpillar Sour sweets
  • Turkish delight – almost always vegan but do double-check the label

For more tasty treats you might be surprised are vegan, click here!

SHARE
Previous articleNon-Vegan Alcohol To Steer Clear Of
Next articleWhy You NEED To Stop Eating Dairy
Nat comes from a background of cycling and fitness. After eating a regular diet for most of his life, he came accross the vegan lifestyle 3 years ago and has never looked back. Nat considers himself an animal activist, environmentalist and keen cyclist, while promoting the vegan lifestyle along the way. He's now a registered personal trainer, gym instructor and currently working his way towards a Sport, Fitness and Coaching degree.

1 COMMENT

Leave a Reply