Vegan Guinness Is Finally a Thing! Huge Step Forward

vegan guinness

Many alcoholic drinks aren’t vegan due to their filtration process, and probably the most well known of these is Guinness. Filtration processes use isinglass, a protein derived form dried fish bladders (wtf). However, vegan Guinness is now coming to pubs near you!

In 2015, Guinness pledged to change their methods to way that will no longer use dead fish. About time really, as in the 21st Century is there really an excuse to use fish bladders to create alcohol anymore?

Fantastically, Guinness have stuck to their word, and vegan Guinness has arrived. However, there is one catch. Only Guinness on tap is vegan, and the bottled and canned Guinness still uses isinglass.

vegan guinness

Although this is an issue, I think it’s more of a teething issue. To finally change their recipe after so long is a huge step, and they have stated that cans and bottles will also be vegan by the end of the year.

The best thing about the introduction of vegan Guinness, is that it has been changed specifically for the vegan market.

‘Our new filtration process has removed the use of isinglass as a means of filtration and vegans can now enjoy a pint of Guinness.’

This isn’t an accident or unintentional, this has happened purely because the market demanded so! Years of campaigning have finally paid off, and prove that advocacy works. It’s a win-win situation for both Guinness and consumers. Guinness can now profit from a large group of the population, and vegans can enjoy Guinness again!

Of course, many beers still aren’t vegan friendly, including Foster’s, Carling and Kronenbourg. Hopefully in the near future, other companies will realise that it is ridiculous to still depend on the organs of animals to filter alcohol.

We put man on the moon 50 years ago, but can’t find a different filtration system? Yeah right!


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.